• © 2016 Guna Foundation

schedule

  • Saturday, February 18

    1 PM
    BAMPFA

  • Saturday, February 25

    1 PM
    BAMPFA

  • Saturday, March 4

    1 PM
    BAMPFA

  • Saturday, March 11

    1 PM
    BAMPFA

  • Saturday, March 18

    1 PM
    BAMPFA

  • Saturday, March 25

    1 PM
    BAMPFA

  • Saturday, April 1

    1 PM
    BAMPFA

  • Saturday, April 8

    1 PM
    BAMPFA

  • Saturday, April 15

    1 PM
    BAMPFA

  • Saturday, April 22

    1 PM
    BAMPFA

  • Saturday, April 29

    1 PM
    BAMPFA

  • Saturday, May 6

    1 PM
    BAMPFA

  • Saturday, May 13

    1 PM
    BAMPFA

  • Saturday, May 20

    1 PM
    BAMPFA

  • Saturday, May 27

    1 PM
    BAMPFA

  • Saturday, June 3

    1 PM
    BAMPFA

  • Saturday, June 10

    1 PM
    BAMPFA

The Great Transmission

Pema Gellek
US, Tibet, India, 2015

Screening weekly in Theater Two, this award-winning documentary is the story of one Tibetan refugee lama and his efforts to preserve the sacred texts of his tradition. Witnessing the disintegration of his heritage, Tarthang Tulku dedicated his life to restoring a text tradition that was nearly lost during the turbulence of the twentieth century. Working with a handful of volunteers, he would deliver more than 4.25 million books into Tibetan hands in one of the largest free book distributions in history. “An inspiring and cinematographically beautiful film that gives us glimpses of Buddhism at some of its most important historical moments” (David Grubin).

56 mins